Incline softball | Nine Highlanders honored on All-League |

Incline softball | Nine Highlanders honored on All-League

File photo

Mount Rose All-League softball

Division I-A first team

Coach of the Year: Frank Avilla, Sparks

MVP: Riley Regas, Sparks

Kaila Griffis, Jr., catcher, South Tahoe

Bailey David, Sr., outfield, South Tahoe

Brittany Sanchez, Sr., infield, South Tahoe

Sarah Hanson, Sr., infield, Sparks

Miranda Bush, Jr., infield, Sparks

Emily Gardner, Sr., utility, South Tahoe

Madison Lock, Soph., infield, Sparks

Marissa Cassio, Jr., DP, Sparks

Brittany Harper, Jr., infield, South Tahoe

Hannah Neiger, Jr., pitcher, South Tahoe

Michelle Cardinas, Sr., outfield, Sparks

Jocelyn Vasquez, Soph., pitcher, Sparks

Division III first team

Coach of the Year: Kelley Thompson, Incline

MVP: Brianna Brewer, Whittell

Emily Harris, Sr., catcher, Whittell

Caroline May, Jr., outfield, Incline

Maddie Findlen, Jr., infield, Incline

Gianna Miller, Jr., outfield, Whittell

Kortney Solis, Jr., infield, Incline

Katie Orlady, Sr., utility, Incline

Kendall Ferris, Jr., infield, Whittell

Amanda Harris, Sr., pitcher, Whittell

Nikki Simon, Sr., infield, Whittell

Sarah Wright, Jr., pitcher, Incline

Sarah Tencher, Sr., outfield, Whittell

Elise Nelson, Jr., pitcher, Incline

Second team combined

Maddie Franco, Fr., catcher, Sparks

Sam Durham, Sr., outfield, South Tahoe

Katie Fisher, Fr., infield, Truckee

Molly Franklin, Soph., outfield, Incline

Isabella Castillo, Sr., outfield, South Tahoe

Liz Anderson, Jr., outfield, Whittell

Nora Anderson, Fr., infield, South Tahoe

Cassara Naccarato, Sr., outfield, South Tahoe

Bailey Barcellos, Fr., infield, South Tahoe

Stephanie Miller, Jr., utility, Sparks

Lachelle Clem, Sr., infield, Sparks

Sylvia Soto, Soph., pitcher, Truckee

Honorable mention combined

Briana Barraza, Fr., catcher, Incline

Danika Davis, Jr., outfield, South Tahoe

Caitlin May, Soph., infield, Incline

Martha Delariva, Jr., outfield, Sparks

Diana Rosas, Jr., infield, Truckee

Tarasita Espana, Sr., outfield, Sparks

Maggie Dean, Jr., infield, Whittell

Dominique Ogilive, Soph., outfield, Whittell

Karina Nienez, Soph, infield, Truckee

Shelley Leonard, Jr., utility, South Tahoe

Addela Ortiz, Fr., infield, Truckee

Kelsey Kjer, Fr., pitcher, Whittell

Incline softball was rewarded thoroughly in All-Mount Rose league voting, with nine players and the coach receiving recognition.

Highlanders head coach Kelley Thompson was voted Division III Coach of the Year, while six players were honored with selections to the first team.

The awards were voted on by coaches within the mixed-division Mount Rose League, which includes Division III and Division I-A schools around the lake (plus Sparks). Both the DI-A and the DIII honored their own separate first teams. The second teams and honorable mention combined both leagues.

For Incline, senior Katie Orlady was voted to the first team as a utility player. Junior teammates Caroline May made the first team as an outfielder, Maddie Findlen and Kortney Solis as infielders, and Sarah Wright and Elise Nelson as pitchers.

Incline sophomore Molly Franklin was voted to the second team, and Briana Barraza and Caitlin May received honorable mention.

Brianna Brewer of Whittell was named MVP of the DIII. Riley Regas of Sparks was MVP of the DI-A.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.