Judges got it right Saturday | SierraSun.com
YOUR AD HERE »

Judges got it right Saturday

As much as I hate to concede this, the grossly arrogant, ever-trash-talking Floyd Mayweather Jr. walked away the clear victor of Saturday’s WBC 154-pound title fight against Oscar De La Hoya.

My boy, the Golden Boy ” whom I always find myself pulling for during his rare ring appearances ” didn’t think so. Said he knows when he has lost a fight, and he didn’t feel like a loser after a 12-round split decision officially determined just that.

But the judges got it right, or at least two of the three.



One had it scored 115-113 in De La Hoya’s favor, the other two 116-112 and 115-113 for Mayweather. The one must have been delusional, as Mayweather, according to ringside stats, landed 207 of 481 punches to De La Hoya’s 122 of 587. He also outscored him 138-82 on power punches.

Proof aside, there’s no convincing a fighter on the losing end of a decision that the judges were in fact correct.



Maybe it’s because boxers have selective memories, recalling only the punches they land while forgetting the many their faces and bodies absorb. Or it could be that many of them have little memory left at all ” being that they trade blows to the head for a living ” and their pride overrides the reality of defeat.

Fighters aren’t the only ones who do this.

Take basketball players, for example, especially in the NBA. They rarely agree with fouls, even if one nearly rips an opponent’s head off. It’s always a clean block, he’ll cry ” almost literally.

Other athletes do this, too. It’s human nature.

How often does a defensive back applaud the pass interference call he was rightfully tagged with, even in the most obvious of circumstances? About as often as a receiver agrees with a non-call after failing to come up with a tightly contested pass.

It’s the same with the batter who takes a called third strike, or the pitcher not given the corner on a 3-2 count.

Of course the soccer player who takes out the opposition cleats up did nothing wrong in his or her eyes.

And those two NASCAR drivers bumping for position? It’s always the other driver who caused the wreck.

So in the case of the Golden Boy losing his belt Saturday, then questioning the decision, such a denial is to be expected.

After all, a fighter never truly loses a decision. Just ask them.

Sylas Wright is the sports editor of the Sierra Sun. He can be reached at swright@sierrasun.com.


Support Local Journalism

 

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User