Lakers, Wolverines honored with All-League selections |

Lakers, Wolverines honored with All-League selections

File photo

Mount Rose All-League baseball

Coach of the Year: Matt Drury, North Tahoe

Division III MVP: Colin Spencer, Sr., North Tahoe

Division I-A MVP: Jared Longland, Sr., Sparks

Division I-A first team

Catcher: Jackson Rohlf, Sr., Truckee

Infield: Dominic Diana, Jr., South Tahoe

Infield: Aaron Pado, Sr., Truckee

Infield: Casey Carter, Sr., Sparks

Infield: Tyler Sharp, Sr., South Tahoe

Outfield: Andy McKechnie, Sr., Truckee

Outfield: Chris Towle, Sr., Truckee

Outfield: Dustin Alexander, Sr., Sparks

Utility/DH: Christian Coats, Sr., South Tahoe

Pitcher: Keifer Putman, Sr., Sparks

Pitcher: Jordan Mann, Soph., South Tahoe

Pitcher: Erik Holmer, Sr., Truckee

Division III first team

Catcher: Matt Elliot, Jr., Whittell

Infield: Jack Clouthier, Soph., Incline

Infield: Tommy Thompson, Soph., Incline

Infield: Alex Tyler, Jr., North Tahoe

Infield: Robbie Poet, Sr., Whittell

Outfield: Shane Christian, Jr., North Tahoe

Outfield: Mitchell Myers, Soph., North Tahoe

Outfield: Baird Bishop, Sr., North Tahoe

Utility/DH: Tommy Dolan, Soph., Incline

Pitcher: Cam Powell, Sr., Incline

Pitcher: Cody Gibson, Sr., Whittell

Pitcher: Wildon DesLauriers, Jr., North Tahoe

Second team combined

Catcher: Travis Dulgar, Soph., Sparks

Infield: River Quinn, Soph., South Tahoe

Infield: Kris Dirga, Sr., Incline

Infield: Brandon Coleman, Soph., Sparks

Infield: Chris Evans, Fresh., Whittell

Infield: Collin Ray, Soph., Sparks

Outfield: Masxsimo Battel, Jr., Incline

Outfield: Sergio Burgueno, Jr., South Tahoe

Outfield: Thor Retzlaff, Jr. Truckee

Outfield: Austin Garrick, Soph., Sparks

Utility/DH: Cody Higgins, Sr., South Tahoe

Pitcher: Riley Guiragossian, Jr., Truckee

Honorable mention combined (North Tahoe, Truckee)

Travis Ferre, Sr., Truckee

Lucas Likes, Sr., North Tahoe

Miles Johansen, Soph., North Tahoe

All-State baseball



Coach of the Year:  Blair Naegle, Faith Lutheran


Division I-A first team

Billy Barth, SR., Boulder City           

Calvin Connors, Jr., Lowry

Dominic Diana, Jr., South Tahoe

Corbett Fleming, Sr., Boulder City

Andrew Hudgins, Sr., Faith Lutheran

Cody Kerns, Sr., Elko

Brenden Meyer, Sr., Faith Lutheran           

Aaron Pado, Sr., Truckee

Caleb Summerhays, Sr., Faith Lutheran

Jesse Studebaker, Sr., Lowry

Dalton Ridgway, Sr., Elko

Josh Yocum, Western

Division I-A second team

Zack Armstrong, Sr., Elko

Kyle Bryce, Jr., Fernley

Logan Etherington, Jr., Faith Lutheran

Tommy Headley, Sr., Elko

Peyton Koopman, Fresh., Boulder City

Jared Longland, Sr., Sparks

Jordan Mann, Soph., South Tahoe

Eli Peinado, Jr., SECTA

Jake Repp, Jr., Moapa Valley

Josh Repp, Sr., Moapa Valley

Tristen Salazar, Jr., Churchill County


Coach of the Year: Vince Angle, Yerington

Division III first team

MVP: Corbin Cliften, Sr., Yerington; Devin Truscott, Sr., Needles

Bo Garner, Jr., Yerington

Tyler Schlegelmilch, Jr., Yerington

Chase Ogolin, Sr., Yerington

Tyler Jones, Jr., Yerington

Haylan Drescher, Sr., Laughlin

Mason Cisneros, Sr., Needles

Aiden Shaver, Jr., Needles

Jason Nevarov, Jr., Needles

Daniel Itza, Jr., Battle Mountain

Dwight Douglas, Sr., Battle Mountain

David De Andreis, Sr., Battle Mountain

Sam Monahan, Jr., Yerington

Division III second team

Nick Estavillo, Sr., Yerington

Baird Bishop  , Sr., North Tahoe

Colin Spencer, Sr., North Tahoe

William Dunn, Soph., Needles

Benny Robinson, Soph., Needles

Averie Prosise, Sr., Laughlin

Jordan Shepherd, Jr., Laughlin

Jared Jensen, Sr., Pershing County

Seth Montes, Sr., Pershing County

Matt Elliott, Jr., Whittell

Jesse Jones, Sr., Battle Mountain

Frank Peters, Soph., Battle Mountain

Division III honorable mention

Donny Petersen, Sr., Yerington

John Lemos, Jr., Yerington

Trenton Evans, Fresh., Needles

Kobie McCorkle, Soph., Needles

Justin Diamond, Sr., The Meadows

Colton Johnson, Sr., Lincoln County

Justin Quibell, Jr., Laughlin

Ryan Torrance, Jr., Laughlin

AJ Nelson, Sr., Laughlin

Malik DelRio, Soph., Battle Mountain

Tommy Dolan, Soph., Incline

The North Tahoe and Truckee baseball teams landed a healthy handful of players on the Mount Rose All-League baseball teams, led by Colin Spencer’s Division III MVP.

The awards were voted on by coaches in the mixed-division Mount Rose League, which includes Division I-A and Division III schools around the lake (plus Sparks). Each division honored its own separate first team, while the leagues combined the second teams and honorable mention.

Spencer was voted MVP of the Mount Rose League’s Division III while his coach, Matt Drury, was voted Coach of the Year after leading the Lakers into the regional postseason for the second consecutive year.

Truckee senior catcher Jackson Rohlf was voted to the Division I-A first team along with Truckee senior shortstop Aaron Pado, senior center fielder Andy McKechnie, senior left fielder Chris Towle and senior pitcher Erik Holmer.

Jared Longland of Sparks was named MVP of the Division I-A.

Aside from Spencer, five Lakers were voted to the Division III first team. They include junior second baseman Alex Tyler, junior outfielder Shane Christian, sophomore outfielder Mitchell Myers, senior catcher Baird Bishop (who received the honor as an outfielder), and junior pitcher Wildon DesLauriers (also the Lakers’ shortstop).

Truckee’s Thor Retzlaff and Riley Guiragossian were voted to the combined second team, while teammate Travis Ferre received honorable mention recognition. For the Lakers, Lucas Likes and Miles Johanson received honorable mention.

All-State snubs

Neither the Wolverines nor the Lakers received much love in All-State voting.

Pado was named to the All-State first team, and was the only Truckee player to receive All-State recognition. Blair Naegle of state champion Faith Lutheran was Coach of the Year.

Two North Tahoe players were honored on the Division III All-State squad, Spencer and Bishop, although both were placed on the second team.

State champion Yerington, meanwhile, landed the state co-MVP, Corbin Cliften, and five first-team selections (eight total). Battle Mountain, which North Tahoe defeated twice in three meetings, had three players on the first team and six total. Needles had seven players on All-State.

Nevertheless, Spencer’s gaudy numbers spoke volumes, and were certainly worthy of first-team designation. The Lakers’ No. 1 starter and workhorse finished the season with an 8-2 record and a 1.88 ERA, with both losses coming against Division I-A teams (Truckee and Sparks). He struck out 125 batters in 67 innings, which, according to the NIAA Record Book, ranks fifth all time in Nevada. At the plate, he hit a cool .500 and slugged .734.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.