Large turnout for Sierra Skogsloppet |

Large turnout for Sierra Skogsloppet

Staff report
Sunny skies greeted a large field of Nordic skiers at the Auburn Ski Club for the Sierra Skogsloppet on Monday. Find a photo gallery from the event at
Courtesy Mark Nadell / |

A total of 118 Nordic ski racers took to the sunny trails of Auburn Ski Club for the annual Sierra Skogsloppet on Monday.

The event featured four race distances — a 13K, 10K, 6.6K and 2K.

Patrick Johnson raced to victory in the 13K, posting a time of 31:29.2, while Spencer Eusden was second in 32:09.4 and Wyatt Fereday third in 33:00.3.

They were trailed by James Crimp, Trace Calvin, Casey Jobe, Skyler Mullings, Aaron Deeter, Connor Kusumoto and Matthew Sanford rounding out the top 10.

Molly Zurn (41:45.9) was the top woman and 23rd overall in a field of 46 racers. Keri Hamby (43:45.8) was second among women and Acadia Davis (44:20.1) was third. They were followed by Judy Polakoff and Karen Seaward.

Among eight racers in the 10K, Hannah Halvorsen, who was fresh off her fine performance at U.S. Nationals, took the win with a time of 26:40. Emily Blackmer was second in 29:09.6 and Amanda Kirkeby was third in 29:30.8.

JC Schoonmaker claimed the win in a field of 35 racers in the 6.6K, crossing the finish line in 17:10.8. Haydn Halvorsen was second in 17:11.2 and Nate Cutler was third in 17:50.3.

Sophia Sanchez was the top female racer and eighth overall in 19:02.3. Quinn Lehmkuhl was the second female and Ursula Volz took third.

In the 2k, which featured 29 skiers, Nina Seemann captured the win in 6:21.1 and was followed by Phoenix Sanchez (6:43.5) and Cooper Honeywell (6:44.7).

Find a photo gallery from the race here.

10th Mountain Division Biathlon

Auburn Ski Club hosted 61 competitors in the 10th Mountain Division Biathlon on Sunday.

Johnson took the win in the pro race, recording a time of 34:04.16. Peter Carroll (35:27.65) was second and Sam Zabell (37:08.64) third. Buff Wendt was the top woman and 11th overall with a time of 50:56.80.

In the novice race, Paul Guerra won and was followed by Orion Maxwell and Payl Hoefer. Lisa Holan was top female competitor.

Tashi Ferris was first in the youth category, Izzie Pullen was second and CJ Nygard was third.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.