NIAA proposes putting Lake Tahoe schools in same league |

NIAA proposes putting Lake Tahoe schools in same league

Steve Yingling
Sun News Service

A new league made up of mostly Lake Tahoe League schools is among the proposals released by the Nevada Interscholastic Activities Association Realignment Committee on Tuesday.

Under the plan, Truckee and North Tahoe would participate in a Mount Rose League that would also include Incline, South Tahoe, Whittell and Sparks.

The mixing of 3A and 2A schools would also include two other leagues: Lahontan and Ruby Mountain. The Lahontan League would contain Dayton, Fernley, Fallon, Lovelock, Rite of Passage, Silver Stage and Yerington. The Ruby Mountain League would include Battle Mountain, Elko, Lowry, Spring Creek, West Wendover and White Pine.

Under the proposal, Mount Rose and Ruby Mountain league schools won’t play each other during the regular season in all sports but football. The 20-school 2A-3A league would separate into its respective classifications for football and playoffs.

The NIAA has been considering major realignment changes for the past several years due to the country’s economic recession and travel issues.

and#8220;This office and the NIAA Board of Control are of the opinion that this proposal addresses financial travel concerns and lost instruction time,and#8221; said NIAA Executive Director Eddie Bonine in a proposal letter to Nevada-affiliated schools.

School administrations have until Jan. 29 to vote on the realignment proposal. From the feedback the NIAA receives from its respective schools and a February meeting of superintendents, it will take a realignment plan to the Board of Control for approval in March. The NIAA plans to release its final realignment structure in April, so athletic directors can schedule for the ensuing school year.

If the realignment plan passes, it will be implemented for at least two years.

Wooster and Hug, two schools in Reno with declining enrollments that were considered as potential 3A schools last year, will remain in the 4A under the proposal. The Northern 4A would include 12 schools except in football where Wooster would play in the 3A-2A mix: Bishop Manogue, Carson, Damonte Ranch, Douglas, Galena, Hug, McQueen, North Valleys, Reed, Reno and Spanish Springs.

Support Local Journalism

Your support means a better informed community.