Nordic racing | Brautigam, LaPoint win Alpenglow Freestyle

Staff report
Courtesy Mark Nadell / www.macbethgraphics.comKara LaPoint skates to a first-place finish in the women's 20-kilometer wave of the Alpenglow Freestyle on Sunday.

A total of 155 Nordic skiers braved the cold on a sunny, brisk morning for the Alpenglow Freestyle 20K at Tahoe Cross Country this past Sunday.Farm Team racer Noah Brautigam won the men’s 20-kilometer race with a time of 1:00:46. He was followed by Farm Team racer Gus Johnson in 1:02:42 and Taylor Sundali in 1:03:09. Peter Hanson of Incline Village came in eighth place with a time of 1:07:50.In the women’s race, Kara LaPoint took top honors with a time of 1:13:01 and was followed by Julie Young in 1:15:52 and Molly Zurn just behind her in 1:15:53. In the junior boys 10K, Peter Holmes took the top spot in a time of 32:38, while Shane Christian was second in 33:06 and Evan Vomund of Incline Village was third in 36:12. Alecia Phillips, Laurel Robinson and Sarah Shade claimed the top three spots in the junior girls 10K race, with Phillips posting a winning time of 1:00:03, Robinson finishing in 1:22:14 and Shade in 1:25:37.Hannah Halvorsen won the 5K girls race with a time of 12:26 and was trailed by Amanda Kirkeby (13:04) and Danielle Nivinski (13:11). Sam Zabell won the 5K boys race in 11:14. Dylan Syben (11:17) was second and Peter Carroll (11:23) was third.Find full results at and race photos at!i=2319232815&k=7NpvFBC.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.