Nordic racing | Sunny, warm conditions greet President’s Cup |

Nordic racing | Sunny, warm conditions greet President’s Cup

Wyatt Fereday claimed the overall win in the 10-kilometer race during the President's Cup on Monday.
Courtesy Mark Nadell / |

2015 Junior National team

MU-16 Girls

Quinn Lehmkuhl

Sofia Sanchez

Ursula Volz

Camille Syben

Bri Parker

Grace Bronstone

Eleanore Hamilton

Chloe Gorman

Carrie Bradley

Claire Lang-Ree

Meaghan Thompson

Abby Baier

MU-16 Boys

JC Schoonmaker

Nate Cutler

Dawson Smith

Christopher Miller

David Dalicandro

Ian Smith

Haydn Halvorsen

Cooper Anderson

Tyler Ferrera (1st alternate)

Max Roske (2nd alternate)

MU-18 Girls

Hannah Halvorsen

Lizzie Larkins

Amanda Kirkeby

Tara Gallant

Savannah Blide

Jenna Rohlf

Kyla Burrill

MU-18 Boys

Sam Zabell

Dylan Syben

Peter Carroll

Trace Calvin

Casey Jobe

Julien Bordes

Connor Kusumoto

Skyler Mullings

Calvin Forsythe

Cam Goldstone

Ryland Belisle

Brandon Herhusky

MU-20 Girls

Bria Riggs

MU-20 Boys

Peter Holmes

Shane Christian

Aaron Deeter

The annual President’s Cup — the final Junior National qualifier — took place in unseasonably warm conditions at Auburn Ski Club on Monday.

The event featured four races, including a 10-kilometer adult and U20/U18 boys race, 5K boys and girls races, and a 2K youth race.

Wyatt Fereday took the win in the 10K among a field of 43 skiers, posting a time of 28:12.2 to runner-up James Crimp’s 28:40.5. Spencer Eusden was third with a time of 29:18.6.

Casey Jobe (30:26.2) finished fourth and was followed by Anja Gruber, Dylan Syben, Charlie Fereday, Cam Goldstone, Aaron Deeter and Gus Johnson rounding out the top 10.

Quinn Lehmkuhl narrowly edged Lizzie Larkins in the 5k girls race, crossing the finish line with a time of 16:04.3 to Larkins’ 16:04.9. Tara Gallant was third in 16:39.9.

They were trailed by Ursula Volz, Kyla Burrill, Nina Seemann, Camille Syben, Bri Parker, Grace Bronstone and Chloe Gorman.

James Clinton Schoonmaker won the 5K boys race with a time of 14:06.5. Haydn Halvorsen placed second in 14:09.6 and Nate Cutler was third in 14:53.2.

Cooper Anderson finished fourth, followed by Dawson Smith, David Dalicandro, Tyler Ferrera, Max Roske, Christopher Miller and Murphy Scott.

In the 2K youth race, Koson Verkler claimed the win with a time of 7:38.8, Cooper Honeywell was second in 7:41.5 and Kili Lehmkuhl was third in 7:58.0.

They were followed by Thomas Hipsley, Lily Murnane, Luca Robillard, Mera Schoonmaker, Lilia Kuzyk, Sven Halvorsen and Mahali Kuzyk.

Find complete race results here and a photo gallery by Mark Nadell here.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User