North Tahoe soccer: Anderson, Cerda lead Laker honors |

North Tahoe soccer: Anderson, Cerda lead Laker honors

Staff report
North Tahoe senior Omar Cerda was voted league MVP.
Sylas Wright / Sierra Sun |



Co-MVP Offense: Bryn Anderson, North Tahoe; Ali Copsy, Whittell

Co-MVP Defense: Emily White, Incline; Daria Sharon, Whittell

Coach of the Year: Stephanie Bales, North Tahoe

First Team

McKenzie Hammack, 12, Yerington

Emma DesLauriers, 12, North Tahoe

Raquel Oliver, 9, Incline

Sammy Forvilly, 10, Whittell

AJ Hurt, 9, North Tahoe

Madison Idso, 10, Whittell

Lily Fullmer, 10, White Pine

Madio Wallner, 10, Incline

Vanessa Andrade, 12, Incline

Lucy Fullmer, 12, White Pine

Mikayla Renfro, 11, Pershing County

Second Team

Rosie Barrera, 10, North Tahoe

Gigi Stetler, 11, Whittell

Jasmine Ruis, 11, West Wendover

Belle Johnson, 10, Incline

Anna White, 9, Whittell

Samantha Gamberg, 11, White Pine

Mallory Tyler, 12, North Tahoe

Mackaya Magdaleno, 11, White Pine

Lilia Lopez, 10, West Wendover

Allison Wright, 12, North Tahoe

Alondra Suarez, 12, Pershing County

Honorable Mention

Isabel Guiza, 12, West Wendover

Valencia Covell, 12, North Tahoe

Shawn Peterson, 10, White Pine

Sami Lampe, 12, Incline

Talia Garcia, 11, North Tahoe

Kallie Nelson, 10, Whittell

LaRae Tomera, 12, Battle Mountain

Anayeli Guerrer0, 12, Yerington

Loryn Hunt, 10, Pershing County

Kate Karolicski, 10, Whittell

Maria Chavez, 12, Battle Mountain


MVP: Omar Cerda, North Tahoe

MVP Offense: Alex Hernandez, Yerington

MVP Defense: Chris Ramirez, West Wendover

Coach of the Year: Miguel Jimenez, West Wendover

First Team

Alex Ruvalcaba, 11, West Wendover

Austin Carr, 11, North Tahoe

Julio Lorea, 10, Whittell

Raul Ruiz, 10, West Wendover

JP Herrera, 10, North Tahoe

Victor Herrera, 11, Incline

Marco Pacheco, 11, White Pine

Anthony Gonzalez, 11, West Wendover

Edgar Munoz, 11, North Tahoe

Danny Guerrero, 11, Incline

Chuy Cordova, 12, Incline

Second Team

Fidel Rodriguez, 11, Incline

Daniel Escareno, 12, West Wendover

Jorge Lopez, 12, West Wendover

Harrison Goss, 12, North Tahoe

Alejandro Rodriquez, 12, Yerington

Fernando Martinez, 12, West Wendover

Jesus Jaimes, 11, West Wendover

Ross Tester, 11, North Tahoe

Sergio Diaz, 11, Battle Mountain

Brian Banuelos, 12, Incline

Eduardo Gonzalez, 10, West Wendover

Honorable Mention

Luis Hernandez, 12, West Wendover

Jair Hernandez, 11, West Wendover

Jose Pacheco, 12, White Pine

Nefi Perez, 12, White Pine

Christian Quezada, 9, North Tahoe

Paulino Tapia, 11, North Tahoe

Cortez Berumen, 12, Yerington

Brayan Vasquez, 12, Yerington

Alan Rangel, 12, Battle Mountain

Koby Mattson, 9, North Tahoe

Brody Young, 10, Battle Mountain

Michael Callejas, 9, Incline

Devon Sutton, 11, Incline

Genaro Mena, 10, Whittell

The North Tahoe soccer teams were rewarded well for their efforts this past season.

The girls, who won their first state championship since 2005, received nine All-League selections, led by senior Bryn Anderson’s Co-Offensive MVP and coach Stephanie Bales’ Coach of the Year. The boys also received nine selections, led by senior Omar Cerda’s MVP.

The awards were determined by the Northern Division III coaches.

In addition to Bales and Anderson, who split her offensive MVP award with Ali Copsy of Whitell, senior Emma DesLauriers and freshman AJ Hurt were voted to the All-League first team, while seniors Allison Wright and Mallory Tyler and sophomore goalie Rosie Barrera were voted to the second team.

Senior Valencia Covell and junior Talia Garcia received All-League honorable mention recognition.

Incline’s Emily White and Whittell’s Daria Sharon were voted Co-Defensive MVPs.

While Cerda received the overall MVP honor for the boys, Alex Hernandez of Yerington was Offensive MVP and Chris Ramirez of West Wendover was Defensive MVP. Miguel Jimenez of West Wendover was Coach of the Year.

North Tahoe juniors Austin Carr and Edgar Munoz and sophomore JP Herrrera were voted to the All-League first team, and senior Harrison Goss and junior Ross Tester made the second team.

Junior Paulino Tapia and freshmen Christian Quezada and Koby Mattson received honorable mention.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.