North Tahoe, Truckee athletes net all-state awards |

North Tahoe, Truckee athletes net all-state awards

Between Truckee and North Tahoe high schools, 29 players in football, soccer and volleyball earned all-state recognition for their play during the fall season.

The awards were determined by Nevada 3A coaches from both the North and South.

In football, Truckee’s Ryan Macken and Kirk Haynes were named to the first team all-state while Cory Hoehn was voted to the second team. The Lakers were not eligible this past season because they played an independent schedule while making a transition from the 3A to 2A.

In soccer, 25 individuals were honored between the two schools. North Tahoe’s Beto Alcaraz and Truckee’s Amy Valdivia were named Coaches of the Year, and North Tahoe’s Paco Delgado and Truckee’s Nicole Panziera both were voted MVP. All four earned the same recognition in the Northern 3A Sierra League.

In volleyball, Truckee’s Melanie Lashbrook was named to the second team all-state at middle blocker.

Below is the complete list of the 2006 fall season all-state awards.

– Player of the Year: Cas Zarate,

Virgin Valley

– Offensive Player of the Year: Travis

Wood, Dayton

– Defensive Player of the Year: Kamas

Wing, Spring Creek

– Lineman of the Year: Adam Paul,

Moapa Valley

– Coach of the Year: Kirk Hafen,

Virgin Valley


QB: Alex Toler, Sparks

Travis Wood, Dayton

RB: Brandon Aguilera, Dayton

Mike Pickens, Sparks

Brad Weiss, Moapa Valley

WB: JP Parker, Virgin Valley

SE: Zack Quilici, Sparks

Conner Maloney, Faith


TE: Bruce Compton, Boulder City

T: Brent Horlacher, Virgin Valley

Brandon Seymore, Dayton

G: Spencer Zarate

Ronnie Tricolli, Spring Creek

C: Travis Stoffel, Fernley

RS: Kyle Ozaki, Moapa Valley


LB: Steven Jensen, Moapa Valley

Josh Avery, Dayton

Ryan Macken, Truckee

Kamas Wing, Spring Creek

DL: Adam Paul, Moapa Valley

Kirk Haynes, Truckee

DE: Jeff Cooper, Moapa Valley

Brandon Seymore, Dayton

CB: Zack Quilici, Sparks

Austin Goff, Virgin Valley

S: Travis Wood, Dayton

Conner Maloney, Faith


P: Travis Wood, Dayton

K: Gus Scheidmann, Spring Creek


QB: Max Done, Faith Lutheran

RB: Travis McCurry, Fernley

Adam Jones, Faith Lutheran

Rocky Spencer, Pahrump

WB: Michael Kruger, Spring Creek

SE: Austin Goff, Virgin Valley

TE: Tom O’Brien, Dayton

T: Adam Paul, Moapa Valley

Cory Hoehn, Truckee

G: Tyler Campbell, Moapa Valley

Kevin Hart, Fernley

C: Danny Koop, Boulder City

RS: Caleb Wing, Spring Creek


LB: Mike Pickens, Sparks

Jack Foley, Faith Lutheran

David Brown, Boulder City

Steve Kelley, Pahrump

DL: Spencer Zarate, Virgin Valley

Stephen Knight, Spring Creek

DE: Spencer Plank, Virgin Valley

Eduardo Gonzalez, Sparks

CB: JP Parker, Virgin Valley

Michael Kruger, Spring Creek

S: Jordan Booth, Pahrump

Caleb Wing, Spring Creek

Aaron Quilici, Sparks

P: Travis Ott, Pahrump

K: Chris Schulte, Faith Lutheran

– MVP: Paco Delgado, North Tahoe

– Coach of the Year: Beto Alcaraz,

North Tahoe


F: Al Virrey, Truckee

Daniel Lake, Battle Mountain

Wyatt Huber, Boulder City

M: David Munoz, North Tahoe

Max Brixey, Truckee

Jim Sullivan, Faith Lutheran

Ryan Sniczyk, Faith Lutheran

D: Emmanuel Sarabia, Truckee

Ricardo Cervantes, North


Sean Banda, Faith Lutheran

G: Michele Basile, North Tahoe

UP: Eric Holman, North Tahoe


F: Iggy Wagner, Pahrump Valley

Edgar Sanchez, Sparks

Edgar Rodriguez, Battle


M: Ivan Sanchez, Incline

Johnny Axelson, Boulder City

Fernando Estrada, North


Christian Hernandez, Whittell

D: Cole Froelich, Truckee

Jesus Franco, Incline

Austin Weisler, Boulder City

G: Paul Waite, Whittell

UP: Dave Anderson, Faith Lutheran

– Honorable mention: Scott Kelly,

Truckee; Gerry Bolanos, North Tahoe;

Salvador Tejeda, Truckee; 4 others

– MVP: Nicole Panziera, Truckee

– Coach of Year: Amy Valdivia, Truckee


F: Sam Deen, Truckee

Noelle Milicic, Boulder City

Monica Ceragioli, Incline

Melissa Crutchfield, Faith


M: Lauren O’Neil, Truckee

Katie Bell, Incline

Courtney Davis, Faith Lutheran

Alison Correales, Boulder City

D: Hannah Ewing, North Tahoe

Mikki Rice, Incline

Michelle Pardinas, Boulder City

G: Annamaric Jones, Incline

UP: Ashley Winter, Dayton


F: Sara Grossman, Truckee

Ky McBeath, Boulder City

Katie Dill, Truckee

M: Mimi Precit, Truckee

Naomi Mavity, Boulder City

Shawnee Wood, Incline

D: Star Collins, White Pine

Josie Jones, Moapa Valley

Marissa McKool, Whittell

G: Alexis Zimmerle, Pahrump


UP: Alyssa Gutschick, Boulder City

– Honorable mention: Joelle

Lazzareschi, North Tahoe; Nicole

Oxandaboure, Truckee; Alexis Fallow,

Truckee; 6 others

– MVP: Kylie Owsley, Lowry

– Coach of the Year: Anna Aiazzi,



MB: Kayla Lommori, Yerington

Caiti Forrester, Boulder City

OH: Emily Koch, Faith Lutheran

Tai Jaques, Spring Creek

S: Melissa Watterson, Lowry

DS: Hillary Thompson, Moapa


UP: Natalie Hale, Incline


MB: Melanie Lashbrook, Truckee

Michelle Dannenberger,

Pahrump Valley

OH: Dena Helme, Yerington

Darien Metcalf, Faith Lutheran

S: Tracey Anderson, Faith


DS: Cristal Herrera, Lowry

UP: Sara Simmons, Dayton

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User