Prep Nordic racing: Kennedy, Taylor capture top spots at Tahoe XC |

Prep Nordic racing: Kennedy, Taylor capture top spots at Tahoe XC

Mark Nadell/www.macbethgraphics.comNorth Tahoe's Miles Heapes races to a fifth-place finish at the North Tahoe Race held this past Friday on the trails of Tahoe XC.

Led by top finishes from Russell Kennedy and Annika Taylor, Truckee placed five boys and four girls in the top 10 at the North Tahoe Race held at Tahoe XC this past Friday.

The host Lakers placed three boys and two girls in the top 10 in the varsity divisions of the CNISSF race.

Kennedy posting a winning time of 21:11.20, while Austin Meng of the Sugar Bowl Academy finished runner-up with a time of 21:30.36, Justin Ondry of Truckee was third in 22:16.17 and Alex Hamilton of Truckee was fourth in 22:16.52.

Miles Heapes led the North Tahoe boys with a fifth-place finish in 22:33.76. He was trailed closely by teammate Patrick McElravey, who finished sixth in 22:38.37, while Miles Clark placed ninth for the Lakers with a time of 23:36.22.

Truckee’s Carson Lindsay was seventh (23:30.40) and Alex Kopytko 10th (23:55.23).

In the varsity girls race, Taylor led the pack with a first-place finish in 24:45.33. Truckee’s Katrin Larusson placed runner-up with a time of 25:25.85, followed by teammates Erica Larusson in sixth (27:19.17) and Natalie Cutler seventh (27:32.15).

Michelle Cahill (29:16.75) and Shelby Foster (29:43.17) finished ninth and 10th, respectively, for the Laker girls.

In the open division, Jackson Rohlf of Truckee won with a time of 24:51.73, while Melanie Swick of Incline won the girls’ race with a time of 29:48.33.

Peter Holmes won the middle school boys race and Gabrielle Rinne won the girls race.

To view complete results from all divisions, visit

The Truckee Sprints have been rescheduled for Friday, Feb. 12 at Truckee’s Surprise Stadium. The middle school prelims start at 11 a.m., with heats at noon. The high school prelims start at 1 p.m., with heats at 2 p.m. Athletes race a preliminary 1-kilometer time trial, and then are seeded in eight-person, head-to-head elimination sprint races. The race course can be viewed in its entirety from the stands at Surprise Stadium.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User