U.S. Ski & Snowboard announces team nominations for 2019-20 | SierraSun.com

U.S. Ski & Snowboard announces team nominations for 2019-20

Travis Ganong returned from a knee injury last season. Ganong was recenly nominated to next year's alpine A Team.
Courtesy of U.S. Ski & Snowboard

U.S. Ski & Snowboard recently announced nominations for its teams ahead of the 2019-20 season. Athletes on A Teams receive the most support in terms of training and financial help from their respective sports going into next season. Athletes on lower teams receive less funding and often rely on the help of donations to make it through the season. An official announcement for teams will be made in the fall. Local athletes from the Truckee-Tahoe area and Mammoth Lakes include:


A Team

Bryce Bennett (Squaw Valley, Squaw Valley Ski Team)

Travis Ganong (Squaw Valley, Squaw Valley Ski Team)

B Team

Keely Cashman (Strawberry, Squaw Valley Ski Team)

AJ Hurt (Carnelian Bay, Squaw Valley Ski Team)

Nina O’Brien (Edwards, Colo., Squaw Valley Ski Team)

Luke Winters (Gresham, Ore., Sugar Bowl Ski Team & Academy)

Development Team

Ainsley Proffit (St. Louis, Mo., Sugar Bowl Ski Team & Academy)

Alix Wilkinson (Mammoth Lakes, Squaw Valley Ski Team)


Halfpipe Pro Team

David Wise (Reno)

Brita Sigourney (Carmel)

Maddie Bowman (South Lake Tahoe)

Carly Margulies (Mammoth Lakes, Mammoth Mountain Freeski Team)

Abigale Hansen (June Lake, Mammoth Mountain Freeski Team)

Slopestyle Rookie Team

Cody LaPlante (Truckee, Squaw Valley Freestyle and Freeride Team)


D Team

Hannah Halvorsen (Truckee, Alaska Pacific University Nordic Center)


Halfpipe Pro Team

Toby Miller (Truckee)

Chloe Kim (Torrance, Mammoth Mountain Snowboard Team)

Maddie Mastro (Wrightwood, Mammoth Mountain Snowboard Team)

Halfpipe Rookie Team

Tessa Maud (Carlsbad, Mammoth Mountain Snowboard Team)

Slopestyle / Big Air Pro Team

Judd Henkes (Lo Jolla, Mammoth Mountain Snowboard Team)

Ryan Stassel (Anchorage, Alaska, Auburn Ski Club)

Brock Crouch (Mammoth Lakes, Mammoth Mountain Snowboard Team)

Jamie Anderson (South Lake Tahoe)

Hailey Langland (San Clemente)

Slopestyle / Big Air Rookie Team

Dusty Henricksen (Mammoth Lakes, Mammoth Mountain Snowboard Team)


Nate Holland (Sandpoint, Idaho)

Justin Scacco is a reporter for the Sierra Sun. Contact him at jscacco@sierrasun.com.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.