Rahlves’ Banzai Tour wraps up at Sugar Bowl | SierraSun.com

Rahlves’ Banzai Tour wraps up at Sugar Bowl

Sylas Wright
Daron Rahlves claimed the victory in the Super Final at Sugar Bowl on Sunday. The race followed the Silver Belt Banzai, which was final stop on the Rahlves' Banzai Tour.
Courtesy Eric Rasmussen / @ericrasmussen237 |

Results — Silver Belt Banzai

Men’s ski

1. Kyle Coxon

2. Grant Ketels

3. Jesse Maddex

4. Shawn McGee

Women’s ski

1. Shannon Rahlves

2. Shelly Robertson

3. Alexis Machovsky

4. Caitlin Robinson

Men’s snowboard

1. Jayson Hale

2. Sylvain Duclos

3. Bobby Minghini

4. Dillon Candelaria

Women’s snowboard

1. Audrey Hebert

2. Mariah Dugan

3. Emily Weer

4. Aubriana Dunn

Super Final

1. Daron Rahlves

2. Jesse Maddex

3. Grant Ketels

4. Kyle Coxon

As if he hadn’t already earned it, Daron Rahlves cemented his title as Banzai Master on Sunday.

The founder of the Rahlves’ Banzai Tour kept his undefeated record intact with a victory ahead of Jesse Maddex, Grant Ketels and Kyle Coxon in the Super Final at Sugar Bowl.

The race immediately followed the final event of the three-stop tour, the Silver Belt Banzai. It pitted the men’s ski winners from the previous stops against Rahlves — a former Olympic downhill racer — in a one-run, winner-takes-all heat worth $5,000.

Coxon, who traveled out from his Utah home to compete in the tour, made it a clean sweep with a win in the men’s ski final of the Silver Belt Banzai. He also won the opening event at Alpine Meadows, the Face Banzai, and the second stop at Kirkwood, the Wall Banzai.

Ketels finished second in the men’s final Sunday to secure a spot in the Super Final (since Coxon had already clinched his spot). Maddex finished third and Shawn McGee was fourth.

Shannon Rahlves claimed the win in the women’s ski final ahead of Banzai Tour rival and former World Cup moguls skier Shelly Robertson. Alexis Machovsky placed third and Caitlin Robinson fourth.

Robertson, who won at Kirkwood and was second at Alpine Meadows, clinched the women’s season title with her top-two finish.

In snowboarding, Jayson Hale took the win in the men’s final to secure the season title, while Sylvain Duclos finished runner-up, Bobby Minghini was third and Dillon Candelaria was fourth.

Audrey Hebert from Banff, Alberta, completed a tour sweep in the women’s snowboard division. She was trailed in the final by Mariah Dugan, Emily Weer and Aubriana Dunn.

McGee and Dugan were honored with the Live Free & Send It Chelone “Chilly” Miller Awards.