Sertoma all-star football rosters set

Sylas Wright
Sierra Sun

Three players from Truckee and one from North Tahoe are slated to compete in the 2009 Sertoma Classic All-Star football game at Reno’s Mackay Stadium next Friday, June 19. Kickoff is 7:30 p.m.

The 28th annual game includes 90 of the top 2A, 3A and 4A graduating seniors (45 players per team) from 27 schools throughout Northern Nevada, Truckee and Tahoe.

Truckee’s Flynn Rice, Dylan Crosby and Travis Dwyer will play for the Silver Team under Fernley coach Jeff Knutson, while James Laughlin of North Tahoe will play for the Blue Team headed by Dayton coach Rick Walker.

Laughlin and#8212; the 2A All-State and Northern 2A All-League Lineman of the Year and#8212; will be joined on the Blue Team by players from Bishop Manogue, Carson, Damonte Ranch, Dayton, Douglas, Elko, Galena, Lowry, Pershing County (Lovelock), Reed, Silver Stage, South Tahoe, and Whittell.

On the Silver squad the Truckee trio will join all-stars from Battle Mountain, Churchill County (Fallon), Fernley, Hug, Incline, McQueen, North Valleys, Reno, Spanish Springs, Sparks, Wooster, and Yerington.

Six Truckee players were selected to play in the game, but three of them will not participate because of prior obligations, said Bob Shaffer, Truckee’s head football coach and athletic director.

Those not participating include Truckee linebacker and fullback Ryan Macken and#8212; the Northern 3A Player of the Year and 3A All-State Co-Defensive Player of the Year and#8212; as well as defensive back and return specialist C.J. Ackerman and quarterback Justin Vosburgh. Macken and Ackerman are leaving for college, Shaffer said, and Vosburgh is playing baseball in Reno.

The three Truckee players scheduled to play, however and#8212; all big men and#8212; bring plenty of accolades to the Silver Team.

Crosby was voted Northern 3A Lineman of the Year and made the All-State offensive and defensive first teams at guard and tackle. Dwyer made the All-State first team at offensive tackle, and Rice was voted to the All-League first team and All-State second team at tight end.

In 2004 the team selection process was changed from geographic boundaries to an alternating selection, or and#8220;draftand#8221; of schools, by the two head coaches. The changes help keep both sides relatively equal in size of schools and player talent.

The Sertoma Classic is an all-volunteer fundraising event sponsored by the Sparks Sertoma Club. All proceeds are donated back to the community through local charities, while funds also are donated to academic and extra-curricular activities of participating high schools.

Coach: Jeff Knutson, Fernley

1. Battle Mountain and#8212; Randy Verbeck, Fritz Knight, William Wolf

2. Churchill County (Fallon) and#8212; Trent deBraga, Dexter Daum

3. Fernley and#8212; Miguel Ovies, Andrew Ritchson, Stephen Abrams, Josh Perry

4. Hug and#8212; Keenan Davis, Alfonso Miranda, Ryan Jones, Courtney Gardner, Willie Typoy, Duke Williams, Tonio Burton

5. Incline and#8212; Kyle Bahneman

6. McQueen and#8212; Tyler York, Karrington Armstrong, Darin Gooch, Matt Phipps

7. North Valleys and#8212; Jacob Perez-Valder

8. Reno and#8212; Matt Kiehn, Billy Dunn, David Jamieson

9. Spanish Springs and#8212; Jared O’Mealy, JJ Jaramillo, Casey Frost, Richie Hernandez, Chris White, Drew Shimikoski, Chris Dall

10. Sparks and#8212; Prince Hall, Ian Butler, Andre City

11. Truckee and#8212; Flynn Rice, Dylan Crosby, Travis Dwyer

12. Wooster and#8212; Anthonie Wright, Chris Seeliger, Mike Evans

13. Yerington and#8212; Taylor Bonnet

Coach: Rick Walker, Dayton

1. Bishop Manogue and#8212; Jered Snow, Jamie Clavell-Head, Steve Jeffers, Jack Garratt, Evan Miller

2. Carson and#8212; Jeff Butler, Dave Laumea, Ernesto Cortez

3. Damone Ranch and#8212; Denny Hurd, James Gallegos

4. Dayton and#8212; Tanner Wood, Nick Bircheff

5. Douglas and#8212; Timothy Rudnick, Zach McFadden, James McLoughlin, Tanner Thomas, David Fisher, Eric Guzman

6. Elko and#8212; Steven Nelms, Donovan Brill

7. Galena and#8212; Taylor Tatro, Nick Dufur, Jarrod Faust, Jeff Belle, David Deal

8. Lowry and#8212; Gus Romasco

9. North Tahoe and#8212; James Laughlin

10. Pershing County (Lovelock) and#8212; Udy Gonzalez, Jayce Montes

11. Reed and#8212; Zach Comphel, Tony Tremaine, John VonSchirmmelmann, Alvin Santiago, Galen Schmidt, Lennox Pierce

12. Silver Stage and#8212; Shelby Spoon

13. South Tahoe and#8212; Chris Klug, Mike Burns

14. Whittell and#8212; Robert Concha-Foley

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.