Sierra Nevada College lacrosse team sweeps through playoff tournament |

Sierra Nevada College lacrosse team sweeps through playoff tournament

Staff report
The Sierra Nevada College men's lacrosse team celebrates its championship victory in the Western Collegiate Lacrosse League (WCLL) conference tournament.
Courtesy Brigit Grimm |

WCLL All-Conference

First Team

Todd Grimm – Face-off specialist

Jack Witt – Long stick middie

Sergio Orduna – Defense

Robert O’Hare - Goalie

Second Team

Jake McIntyre – Attack

Cory Callahan – Midfield

Maximiliano Huff – Midfield

Honorable Mention

Logan Rooney – Midfield

The Sierra Nevada College men’s lacrosse team won both of its playoff games this past Saturday to advance to the Men’s Collegiate Lacrosse Association (MCLA) Division II National Championship series.

The Eagles, who finished the regular season with an 8-1 record, opened the Western Collegiate Lacrosse League (WCLL) conference tournament with a 17-8 win over Saint Mary’s College. They then defeated rival University of Nevada, Reno, 14-6, the following day in the championship.

Junior Logan Rooney was named the WCLL Tournament Most Valuable Player.

Sierra Nevada College will face fourth-seeded North Dakota State University in the first round of the national championship series on Monday, May 11.

The Eagles’ men’s lacrosse program is only in its second year of existence. This is the first year the team is eligible to play in the national finals.

Top honors

Eight Sierra Nevada College players received Western Collegiate Lacrosse League DII All-Conference honors.

Todd Grimm, Jack Witt, Sergio Orduna and Robert O’Hare were named to the All-Conference first team, while Jake McIntyre, Cory Callahan and Maximiliano Huff made the second team. Rooney received honorable mention recognition.

Support Local Journalism

Your support means a better informed community.