Squaw’s Tim Dutton wins on final stop of World Freeskiing Championships | SierraSun.com

Squaw’s Tim Dutton wins on final stop of World Freeskiing Championships

Sun Staff and Mountain Sports International reports

GIRDWOOD, ALASKA The skies cleared enough Sunday to allow the final day of the 2009 Subaru World Freeskiing Championships to go down at Alyeska Resort. And Squaw Valley skier Tim Dutton took full advantage.Fresh off his win in the Subaru North American Freeskiing Championships at Kirkwood last month, Dutton impressed the judges with an aggressive line in which he aired over rocks and sked confidently through exposure to score the points he needed to become the World Freeskiing Champion. He took the top spot among a field of 29 men in the invite-only competition, and earned $5,000 in prize money for the win.Rebecca Selig of Snowbird, Utah, finished first out of nine women, while Julien Lopez and Crystal Wright won the overall 2009 Freeskiing World Tour.Lars Chickering-Ayers of Vermont ended up in second after picking his way through the rocks at the top of the run and straight lining through the chowder. Frenchman Julien Lopez placed third, blazing through the exposure on the top and pulling a huge air off a cliff while making it all look so easy.Scott Hanichen of Squaw Valley placed 11th, Trevor Tanhoff of Sugar Bowl was 22nd and John Lange of Squaw was 27th.In the womens competition, Karine Falck-Pedersen, who skis out of Squaw Valley, finished sixth.The goal of the Subaru Freeskiing World Tour is to showcase the best terrain of each host resort, but consideration is always given to weather, safety and snow conditions. Once patrol gave the green light, competitors hiked up the boot pack of the 1,000-foot vertical face for their inspection run, getting a chance to scope their lines on the way up. Clouds were intermittent during the inspection, but blue sky pushed in, allowing the helicopter to shuttle the competitors back up to the top of the venue for their final runs. The heli ride was awesome, said Crystal-Rose Lee, I got to sit in the front seat with Crystal Wright.The four competition judges use five categories to decide the winner of FWT events: line choice, fluidity, control, aggression/energy and form/technique. Line choice is the first score the judges decide, and all following scores are directly related to that line choice score. Each category is worth 10 points, with a total possible score of 50 points.Dylan Crossman of Alta won the Backcountry.com Sickbird Award for his fluid jump turns through tight, exposed rocks with controlled high-speed exit. The coveted Backcountry.com Sickbird buckle is an award that is given out at the end of each FWT event, to the athlete with the most spirited run. These runs usually include super-human talent and agility.

Day Two Results – HeadwallMEN PLACE, ATHLETE NAME , BIB, COUNTRY, HOME RESORT, TOTAL 1andamp;21 Tim Dutton 3 USA Squaw Valley 83,502 Lars Chickering-Ayers 22 USA Mad River Glen 80,443 Julien Lopez 1 FRA La Plagne 80,254 Luke Nelson 24 CAN Fernie 80,195 Cliff Bennett 2 USA Snowbird 79,316 Caleb Mullen 4 USA Crested Butte 78,257 Mark Welgos 35 USA Aspen 77,198 Dylan Crossman 34 USA Alta/Mad River Glen 75,259 Garrett Altmann 11 USA Alyeska 74,4410 Langdon Adams 37 USA Aspen 74,3811 Scott Hanichen 41 USA Squaw Valley 72,8812 Daimon Bushi 39 USA Snowbird 72,5013 John Mason 8 USA Breckenridge 72,1314 Ted Davenport 31 USA Aspen 72,0615 Scott McBrayer 21 USA Wasach/Elks 71,0616 Daryn Edmunds 52 USA Alta 67,8116 Dex Mills 6 USA Crested Butte 67,8118 Rob Leitner 53 USA Snowbird 67,1319 Abe Gioffre 27 USA Alyeska 65,3820 Ryan Davis 23 USA Stevens Pass 63,2521 Matt Potter 5 USA A-Basin 61,5022 Trevor Tanhoff 36 USA Sugar Bowl 59,5023 Aaron Schmidt 9 CAN Fernie 58,5024 Kent Hyden 30 USA Alta 51,5025 Jesse Bryan 26 USA Alta/Bird 43,0026 Logan Imlach 19 USA Alyeska 42,0027 John Lange 7 USA Squaw Valley 38,7528 Mark Filippini 33 USA Vail 37,8129 Collin Boyd 32 USA Jay Peak 37,50WOMEN 1 Rebecca Selig 42 USA Timber Ridge 80,502 Crystal Wright 12 USA Jackson Hole 76,313 Crystal-Rose Lee 18 CAN Whistler/Blackcomb 75,504 Sonja Lercher 13 CAN Blackcomb 75,445 Ariana Stufano 17 CAN Whistler/Blackcomb 72,066 Karine Falck-Pedersen 15 NOR Squaw Valley 60,887 Jacqui Edgerly 25 USA Aspen 60,318 Alexis DuPont 38 USA Sun Valley 50,639 Phillipa Hunt 14 USA Crested Butte 47,7510 Hannah Whitney 16 USA Alta 15,63

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User