Stone’s (2x), Longs and Pacers are TDRPD champs |

Stone’s (2x), Longs and Pacers are TDRPD champs

“D3” Playoffs

Stone’s Tire 19, Bar of America 6.

Stone’s Tire No. 2 scored 53 runs on the night to win the men’s “D3” league. They defeated Alpine Sierra Mortgage/Fidelity Title 34-19 and the Bar of America 19-6.

Stone’s Tire opened the season in the “D2” league, but went 2-4 and were dropped to “D3” for the second half. They responded with a perfect 6-0 mark in the second half and opened the playoffs against Alpine Sierra Mortgage/Fidelity Title. Stone’s scored 11 runs in the first inning and led 18-2 going to the third inning, but AS/F rallied for nine runs in the third and seven more in the fourth to cut the lead to 21-19. Stone’s put the game out of reach with a six-run sixth to move to the final.

In the other semifinal game, Bar of America, the first-half league champs, faced off against Calvary Chapel. Colin Patrick tripled and homered, Mike Butterworth had a grand slam and Doug Delicandro and Donnie Rickerts had three hits each to lead the Bar to a 22-9 win. Rod Mayne drove in four runs with a single and a homer for Calvary Chapel.

In the final, Stone’s jumped to a 7-0 lead going to the bottom of the third inning. The Bar of America cut the lead to 7-4 on a Delicandro grand slam but Stone’s answered with two in the fourth and six in the fifth.

The winning team consisted of Jeff Ogle, Darryl Ross, Joe Suter, Kenny McMurry, Dan O’Gorman, Mitch Jesse, Joe David, Mark Heidelberger, Chris David, John Bradham, Travis Pribble and Tim Keltner.

“D2” Playoffs

Longs Outlaws 22, Squaw Valley 13.

Longs Outlaws used an incredible eighth inning rally to win the semifinal game against Northstar and then defeated Squaw Valley in the final to capture top honors in the men’s “D2” league.

The Outlaws, winners of the first half, trailed Northstar 17-14 going to the bottom of the seventh inning, but rallied for three runs in the bottom of the seventh to send the game into extra innings. Northstar then came up with seven runs in the top of the eighth to seemingly put the game out of reach.

The Outlaws then answered with seven runs of their own to tie the game. With a runner on third and only one out, Northstar walked two batters to load the bases for Brad Nicely. Nicely responded with a ground rule double and a 26-24 win for the Outlaws. Nicely finished with five hits and six RBI to pace the Outlaws while Mike Jones and Brent Boblitt had four hits each for Northstar.

Squaw Valley did some rallying of its own in the other semifinal game. The second-half champs trailed Meng Construction 7-0 before finally winning 20-14. Mark Moos had four hits, Tim Devaney homered and Steve Fienhage, Dave Schiessi and Gary Weinstein had three hits each for Squaw. Steve Lingnau paced Meng with three hits and four RBI.

In the championship game, Longs scored five runs in the first and nine in the second for a 14-2 lead and then went on to beat Squaw, 22-13. Paul Dalbol, Mike Cooper and Steve Randall all homered for the Outlaws. Fienhage, Schiessi and Roger Harvey homered for Squaw.

The championship Longs Outlaws are Russ Gadsby, Jarad Sahlberg, Mark Peters, Paul Dalbol, Britt Sahlberg, Brad Nicely, Mike Cooper, Chris Cooper, Ron Cooper, Steve Randall, Dale McMulen and Brian McEnaeney.

“D1” Playoffs

Stone’s Tire 21, Taco Station 14.

Stone’s Tire capped a perfect season by sweeping the playoffs in the men’s “D1” league to become the top men’s softball team in Truckee for the second straight year. Stone’s Tire became the first team to go undefeated in Truckee men’s softball since Atlas Contractors in 1986.

The Bucks gave Stone’s their toughest test of the season in the semi-finals, taking a 4-3 lead to the bottom of the sixth inning. Stone’s erupted for eight runs and held on for an 11-8 win. Matt Ruge and John Cardinali led Stone’s with three hits each and Dan Evens added a homer. Jerry Moore drove in four runs with three hits and Steve Hollinger had four hits for the Bucks.

Taco Station faced the Ducks in the other semi-final game. Taco Station built an early 14-0 lead and held on the win 18-10. Max Jones had three hits and five RBI and Pepe Lopez and Mike Diaz homered for Taco Station. Tracy King, Mark Lockwood and Mitch Brown had three hits each for the Ducks.

The final game of the season looked like a slug fest as Taco Station trailed 14-13 after just three innings. But Stone’s Tire started playing their usual tight defense and allowed only on more run the final four innings. Stone’s broke the game open with a seven run fourth inning highlighted by a two-run triple by Mike Baker and a two-run single by Daryl Nauman.

The 14-0 Stone’s Tire team was comprised of Bob Stone, Andy Tanberg, Gary Furamoto, John Cardinali, Bill English, Matt Ruge, Mike Vincent, Mark Tranchida, Mike Baker, Robert Smith, Dan Evens, Darryl Nauman, Tom Clarke and Jim Borghello.

Tahoe Forest Hospital Top Women’s League

The Pacers of Tahoe Forest Hospital won the Tahoe City/Truckee Women’s league championship by defeating the Pink Panthers 9-3. The championship was the first ever for Truckee team and ended the one year reign of Cal-Sierra Electric.

The Panthers opened the playoffs by upsetting Cal-Sierra Electric 21-15. Cal-Sierra was the regular season champions with a 10-2 record but had cold bats in the playoff game, scoring only five runs in the first five innings while the Panthers had a big nine run second inning. The Panther’s were led by Sandy Hines and Men McEneny who had four hits and four RBI each. Judy Miller and Connie Paterson homered for Cal-Sierra.

The other semi-final game pitted two teams that finished 7-5 during the regular season, Tahoe Forest and Pete ‘n Peter’s. Solid defense by both team highlighted the game. Martha Bott had a two-run single in the third and a two-run double in the fourth to lead the offense to help send the Hospital to the championship game.

In the title game Tahoe Forest built a 4-0 lead going into the fourth inning when the Panther’s Lisa Valiere belted a three-run homer to cut the lead to 4-3. That would be all the runs the Panthers would score as the Hospital played excellent defense lead by shortstop Josie Lister and pitcher Melanie Young. The Pacers scored three insurance runs in the fifth and one in the sixth for the final 8-3 win.

The winning Tahoe Forest Hospital team is Kristina Martin, Louise Mincey, Debbie Licciardo, Josie Lister, Lisa Bulling, Martha Bott, Melanie Young, Cathy McClintock, Kim Mincey, Kim Thomas, Debbie Blaker, Sandra Blas and Amy Harmon.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more