Stone’s, VPM and Boreal win softball championships |

Stone’s, VPM and Boreal win softball championships

Following are the results from the Truckee-Donner Recreation and Park District’s adult softball league championships last week. The championships wrapped up the two-part softball season.

Men’s D1 league

Stone’s Tire won the top men’s league in Truckee for the third straight year by beating Atlas Contractors 16-6 in the D1 championship game.

The win was the 33rd straight for Stone’s Tire, which has now had two straight undefeated seasons.

Its last loss was Aug. 1, 1996 to Atlas.

Stone’s defeated the Bucks in the first round of playoffs 19-6. Mike Vincent had a three-run homer, Robert Smith had a two-run shot and Dan Evans had four RBI.

The Bucks were the last team other than Stone’s to win the D1 league, winning the title in 1994 and 1995.

In the other semi-final game Atlas Contractors beat Taco Station 20-7.

Mike Ebbert, Dan Thiel, Clay Mahoney and Mike White all had four hit games for Atlas in what may have been the final win for Atlas as it ended a run of 20 years as one of the most successful teams in Truckee Softball history. Atlas won eight titles in a nine year span from 1985 – 1993.

Stone’s Tire broke open a close championship game with six runs in the top of the seventh inning to finish off Atlas. Robert Smith had four hits including a two-run homer and Mike Vincent and Billy English also had four hits each for the champions.

The first place Stone’s Tire team is; Smith, Vincent, English, John Cardinali, Matt Ruge, Dan Evans, Mike Baker, Gary Furamoto, Mark Tranchida, Darryl Nauman, Jim Borghello, Dr. Tom Clarke and Bob Stone.

Men’s D2 league

Stone’s Tire #2 edged Northstar-at-Tahoe 13-9 to win the Men’s D2 title. Northstar qualified for the playoffs by winning the first half on the D2 league with a perfect 6-0 record and beat Squaw Valley in the semi-final game 20-8.

Stone’s Tire, the second half champs, beat the Waltman Loaders 20-8 in the other semi-final game.

Northstar jumped to a 4-0 lead in the top of the first inning behind back-to-back homers by Troy Grunucci and Barry Church.

Stone’s answered with four runs in the bottom half of the inning to tie the game.

After Northstar scored two runs in the top of the second Stone’s again answered with three in the bottom half to take the lead for good.

Joe Suter led Stone’s in the final with three hits and four RBI and Jeff Ogle added four hits.

The Stone’s Tire #2 team is: Suter, Ogle, Travis Pribble, Dan O’Gorman, Kenny McMurry, Ken Isola, Steve Tripp, Steve Hogan, John Bradham, Darryl Ross, Chris David, Joe David and Mark Heidelberger.

Men’s D3 League

Vacation Property Management took top honors in the Men’s D3 league by beating Alpine Meadows 17-15 in the championship game. V.P.M. won the first half of the D3 league to qualify for the playoffs and knocked off Sugar Bowl 20-15 in the first round of playoffs.

Alpine Meadows, the second half winner, ripped Calvary Chapel 19-6 in the other semi-final game.

The D3 championship game was the wildest of the four leagues with Alpine Meadows scoring six times in the bottom of the first inning to take a 6-1 lead.

Vacation Property Management rallied for nine runs in the top of the second behind triples by Doug Delicandro and Donnie Rickert.

Alpine Meadows scored four times in the bottom half of the inning to take the lead again. Alpine held the lead until V.P.M. scored five runs with two outs in the fifth to take the lead for good.

The champion Vacation Property Management team is Rob Kirsch, Doug Delicandro, Mike Sayler, Donnie Rickert, Todd Pierson, Jason Kirk, Tim Fournell, Wade Willey, Terry Cordell, Sam Rogers, Andy Bullion, Randy Allen and Mike Butterworth.

Men’s D4 League

Boreal topped Los Altos 17-3 to take first place in the Men’s D4 league. Boreal out slugged Sierra Motors 17-9 in one semi-final game while Los Altos pulled off the upset of the playoffs by edging Roy Adams Construction 6-5 in the other semi-final game.

The championship game was all Boreal as Matt Stark blasted a three-run homer, Dave Beckwith had a three-run triple and Mike Norris added three hits and three RBI.

Meanwhile, Los Altos had three runners thrown out on the bases in the first four innings.

Boreal’s championship team consisted of Stark, Beckwith, Mike Norris, Paul Kruger, Kevin Sargent, Tim Looper, Jay Meissen, Mike Leach, Scott Lewis and Bill Collins.

Sierra Sun E-mail:

Visitors Guide | News | Diversions | Marketplace | Weather | Community

Copyright, Materials contained within this site may

not be used without permission.


Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User