Tahoe racers nominated to 2015 U.S. Alpine Ski Team | SierraSun.com

Tahoe racers nominated to 2015 U.S. Alpine Ski Team

Staff and U.S. Ski Team report
Squaw Valley skier Bryce Bennett competes in the U.S. Alpine Championships in March. Bennett was nominated to the U.S. Ski Team's B Team.
Sylas Wright / swright@sierrasun.com |

2015 U.S. Alpine Ski Team nominations

Men’s A Team

David Chodounksy (Crested Butte Ski Team) *

Travis Ganong (Squaw Valley Ski Team) *

Jared Goldberg (Team Flow) *

Tim Jitloff (Park City Ski Team) *

Ted Ligety (Park City Ski Team) *

Bode Miller (Carrabassett Valley Academy) *

Andrew Weibrecht (New York Ski Education Foundation) *

Women’s A Team

Stacey Cook (Mammoth Mountain Ski Team) *

Julia Mancuso (Squaw Valley Ski Team) *

Alice McKennis (Rowmark Academy) *

Mikaela Shiffrin (Burke Mountain Academy) *

Leanne Smith (Mt. Washington Valley Ski Team) *

Lindsey Vonn (Buck Hill/Ski and Snowboard Club Vail) *

Men’s B Team

Bryce Bennett (Squaw Valley Ski Team)

Thomas Biesemeyer (New York Ski Education Foundation)

Ryan Cochran-Siegle (Cochran’s)

Nick Daniels (Squaw Valley Ski Team)

Mark Engel (Sugar Bowl Academy)

Tommy Ford (Mt. Bachelor Ski Education Foundation) *

Colby Granstrom (Mission Ridge Ski Education)

Nolan Kasper (Burke Mountain Academy) *

Steven Nyman (Park City Ski Team) *

Marco Sullivan (Squaw Valley Ski Team) *

Brennan Rubie (Snowbird Ski Team)

Women’s B Team

Abigail Ghent (Ski & Snowboard Club Vail)

Anna Marno (Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club)

Paula Moltzan (Buck Hill Ski Team)

Katie Ryan (Aspen Valley Ski and Snowboard)

Laurenne Ross (Mt. Bachelor Ski Education Foundation) *

Jacqueline Wiles (White Pass Ski Club) *

Men’s C Team

Nicholas Krause (Stratton Mountain School)

Women’s C Team

Katharine Irwin (Ski & Snowboard Club Vail)

Lila Lapanja (Diamond Peak/Sugar Bowl)

Men’s Development Team

Erik Avridsson (Squaw Valley Ski Team)

Ronnie Berlack (Burke Mountain Academy)

AJ Ginnis (Green Mountain Valley School)

Sam Morse (Carrabassett Valley Academy)

Kipling Weisel (Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation)

Women’s Development Team

Stephanie Lebby (Squaw Valley Ski Team)

Breezy Johnson (Rowmark Ski Academy)

* Denotes Olympian

Tahoe ski racers Julia Mancuso, Travis Ganong, Tim Jitloff and Stacey Cook were among the 40 athletes nominated to the 2015 U.S. Alpine Ski Team last week, leading the way on the squad’s A Team.

The team will be formally named in the fall during Nature Valley First Tracks at Copper Mountain, Colo., home of the U.S. Ski Team Speed Center.

Ganong and Jitloff are joined on the men’s A Team by Bode Miller, Ted Ligety, Andrew Weibrecht, Jared Goldberg and David Chodounksy.

Mancuso and Cook are joined by Lindsey Vonn, Mikaela Shiffrin, Leanne Smith and Alice McKennis on the women’s A Team.

Support Local Journalism

Squaw Valley’s Bryce Bennett and Nick Daniels and Sugar Bowl’s Mark Engel, meanwhile, were promoted to the B Team, joining U.S. Ski Team veteran Marco Sullivan of Squaw Valley.

Incline Village native Lila Lapanja of the Sugar Bowl and Diamond Peak ski teams was bumped up from the women’s D Team to the C Team, while Squaw Valley Ski Team members Erik Avridsson and Stephanie Lebby were nominated to the D Team.


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.