Track team takes meets in stride |

Track team takes meets in stride

With the snow mostly gone, the Tahoe-Truckee varsity track and field team has reared its head.

Faces are familiar, with a lot of returning racers, but one notable change has occurred.

Darrel Smith has taken the reigns as coach for the Tahoe-Truckee High School track team, replacing Bob Schaffer, who is now the athletic director for Tahoe-Truckee High School.

Smith moved to Kalaheo, Hawaii soon after graduating from Truckee in 1964. While there he coached football for 25 years and track for 15 years.

He recently returned to Truckee, explaining that he “just kind of came back home … looking to retire.”

Smith has had success so far this season with the track team despite having what he called a disappointing turn out in terms of numbers.

“The turnout wasn’t what I would’ve liked,” Smith said, “but there’s a lot of quality. I like the Truckee kids. They’re tough kids.”

Two racers that Smith is particularly optimistic about are Elias Silver and Juan Aguilar.

Silver ran the 800 meter run in 2:02.4, which, according to Smith, qualifies him as Nevada’s fastest runner in that discipline. Silver has consistently toppled his opponents this season, claiming wins at Smith Valley High School, Fallon, and Yerrington.

Aguilar, Smith said, is Nevada’s third fastest runner in the 400 meter dash. Smith says that Aguilar’s fastest time of :51.99 is a “very respectable time no matter where where you look.” Aguilar also claimed wins at the aforementioned meets.

Casey Nelson, Truckee’s running back during football season, came into his own a couple of races into the season and won the 100-meter dash at Yerrington and Smith Valley, helping Truckee to win its first team meet at the Smith Valley meet (the Bulldog Invitational.)

Other members of the Truckee boys’ team include: Evan Birchard, Dave Shannon, Kyle Shane, Robert Acevedo, Zack Wilson, Neil Flanders, Mike Ochoa, Ryan Campbell, Iran Manzano, Rogelio Peralta, Andrew Van Blarigan and Graham Herr.

The girls’ team has yet to claim a team win, but has talent that returned from last year’s team.

Kristine Bena, the winner of the 100 meter hurdles in last year’s state championship meet, is joined by Betsy Van Blarigan. Both have consistently placed in their respective events this season.

Other members of the girls team include: Nichole Stegner, Janeth Corral, Julie Reuckheim, Kelsey Fisher, Kaitlin Steverman, Taylor Gordon, Kim Lewis, Andrea Richards, Lindsay Borghello, Kim Lewis, Nichole Comeaux, Krista Anderson, Alicia Blount and Gabby Corral.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User