Truckee football: Swalander, Simms, Araiza voted to All-League first team |

Truckee football: Swalander, Simms, Araiza voted to All-League first team

Truckee senior Erik Swalander (54), shown blocking for junior running back Cole Harrity, was voted by coaches to the All-League first team at offensive guard and the All-League second team at defensive end. Harrity was selected to the All-League second team at both running back and safety.
Sylas Wright / Sierra Sun |

Ten Truckee football players were honored with selections to the Northern Division I-A All-League team, while three were named to the All-State team.

The awards were determined by the league’s coaches.

Senior Erik Swalander and juniors Jose Araiza and Orlander Simms led the Wolverines’ selections.

Swalander, a 6-foot-2, 235-pound lineman, was voted to the All-League first team at offensive guard and the All-League second team at defensive end. Swalander also was named to the All-State second team at offensive guard.

Thanks to his powerful right leg, Araiza was voted to both the All-League and All-State first teams as a punter. He also made the All-League second team as a kicker.

Simms, an imposing force at 6-3 and 280 pounds, was selected to the All-League first team at defensive tackle as well as the All-State second team at the same position.

The following Truckee players were voted to the All-League second team: Senior Conor Jacobs at tight end, senior Taylor Ludwig at offensive tackle, junior Cole Harrity at both running back and safety, junior Wulfe Retzlaff at linebacker, and junior Jack Englert at cornerback.

Senior Sean Bokinskie (free safety), junior Jayme Nelson (offensive line) and Englert (wide receiver) received honorable mention recognition.

Among the top awards, senior quarterback Connor Richardson of Fallon was voted league MVP, while Elko’s Alex Puentes and Spring Creek’s Jon Jund were Co-Offensive MVPs, TJ Mauga of Fallon was Defensive MVP, and Fernley’s Tyler Roemer was Lineman of the Year.

Brooke Hill, who led Fallon to a state championship title over Moapa Valley, was voted Coach of the Year.


Most Valuable Player: Connor Richardson, Fallon

Co-Offensive MVPs: Alex Puentes, Elko; Jon Jund, Spring Creek

Defensive MVP: TJ Mauga, Fallon

Lineman of the Year: Tyler Roemer, Fernley

Coach of the Year: Brooke Hill, Fallon

First Team

QB: Tommy Cefalu, South Tahoe

RB: Cade Vercellotti, Fallon

RB: Jake Davis, Spring Creek

RB: Hunter O’Meara, Sparks

WR: Dakota Larson, Spring Creek

WR: Brock Uptain, Fallon

Athlete: Eddie Sloan, Fernley

TE: Kyrin Allen, Elko

T: Landon Green, Elko

T: Taylen Cordes, Fallon

G: Joey Shepard, Fernley

G: Erik Swalander, Truckee

G: Wyatt Hampton, Fallon

C: Braxton Hunter, Fallon

DT: Orlander Simms, Truckee

DT: Jake Pengelly, Elko

DT: David Tuikolongahau, Sparks

DE: Michael Porras, Fallon

DE: Nick Smiley, Elko

LB: Riley Williams, Fallon

LB: Johnny Mayo, Fallon

LB: Evan Bitter, Fallon

LB: Romeo Okorie, Wooster

LB: Sheldon Wilkinson, Spring Creek

CB: Dustin Baum, Elko

CB: Kenan McDonald, Fernley

S: Aaron Bitter, Fallon

S: Eddie Sloan, Fernley

K: Nick Smiley, Elko

P: Jose Araiza, Truckee

RS: Conner Nelson, Fallon

Second Team

QB: Kyle Throckmorton, Fernley

RB: Cole Harrity, Truckee

RB: Mitch Owsley, Spring Creek

RB: Jake Pengelly, Elko

WR: Zach Shearer, South Tahoe

WR: Conner Nelson, Fallon

Athlete: Darren Jackson, South Tahoe

TE: Conor Jacobs, Truckee

T: Joe Albrecht, South Tahoe

T: Taylor Ludwig, Truckee

G: Danny Lopez, Spring Creek

G: Jayson Stone, Elko

G: Andrew Herrera, South Tahoe

C: Mikeas Saumers, Lowry

DT: Joey Shepard, Fernley

DT: Luis Salazar, Elko

DT: Atalonui Tuikolongahau, Sparks

DE: Cameron Milan, South Tahoe

DE: Erik Swalander, Truckee

LB: Wulfe Retzlaff, Truckee

LB: Andrew Herrera, South Tahoe

LB: Branden Holt, Elko

LB: AC Reyes, Fernley

CB: Quinn Ritter, South Tahoe

CB: Jack Englert, Truckee

S: Cole Harrity, Truckee

S: RJ Bejarano, Elko

K: Jose Araiza, Truckee

P: Benton Wickersham, Elko

RS: Nate Nelson, Lowry

Honorable Mention (Truckee only)

FS: Sean Bokinskie

WR: Jack Englert

OL: Jayme Nelson


P: Jose Araiza (First team)

G: Erik Swalander (Second team)

DT: Orlander Simms (Second team)

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.