Truckee football: Top of their league |

Truckee football: Top of their league

Emma Garrard/Sierra SunAll six Truckee players shown in this Sept. 6 photo against Bishop earned Northern 3A All-League recognition. Far left, nearly out of site, is Jordan Deiro, then C.J. Ackerman (11), Vince Shaffer (9), Dylan Crosby (58), Robert Raber (22) and Travis Dwyer (55). A total of 21 Truckee players made All-League, with Ryan Macken voted Player of the Year and Dylan Crosby voted Lineman of the Year.

Name a position ” any position on the football field ” and there’s a good chance a Truckee player earned All-League recognition at that spot.

The Northern 3A champs essentially cleaned up on 2008 All-League selections, with 21 players honored. Eleven Wolverines were voted by coaches to the first team, while three made the second team and seven earned honorable mention recognition.

Several players were voted in at more than one position.

The top honor went to senior linebacker/fullback Ryan Macken, who was voted Player of the Year. Senior Dylan Crosby was voted Lineman of the Year and head coach Bob Shaffer Coach of the Year.

Awarded with first-team honors on offense were Robert Raber at running back, Ryan Roberts at wingback, Flynn Rice at tight end, Travis Dwyer at tackle, and Crosby at guard.

Defensive first team honors went to Crosby at defensive tackle, Kevin Decker at defensive end, Macken at linebacker, Jackson Weed at linebacker, C.J. Ackerman at safety, and Cory Sharp at cornerback. Justin Vosburgh made the first team as a punter while Ackerman also made the cut as a return specialist.

Truckee junior Jordan Deiro was voted to the second team at running back, while Ryan Zusy earned the honor at center and Ryan Cook at linebacker. In addition to their first-team selections, Vosburgh also made the second team at quarterback and Dwyer at defensive end.

The following Wolverines earned honorable mention recognition: Luis Aguilar (running back), Vince Shaffer (wide receiver), Tanner Keese (tackle), Vance Brown (guard), Marshall Lipke (defensive tackle), Bob Waters (linebacker), and Orlando Serna (cornerback).

The 3A All-State team will be determined next week.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User