Truckee soccer: Sarabia voted MVP, Kelly Coach of Year |

Truckee soccer: Sarabia voted MVP, Kelly Coach of Year

Staff report
Truckee junior Manuel Sarabia was voted MVP of the Northern Division I-A.
Sylas Wright / Sierra Sun |



MVP: Manuel Sarabia, 11, Truckee

Coach of the Year: Jim Nisbet, Elko

First Team

Forward: Genaro Vasquez, 11, Sparks

Forward: Aram Villegas, 12, Elko

Forward: Bryan Munoz, 10, Sparks

Halfback: Jonathan Young, 12, Elko

Halfback: Alex Medina, 11, Sparks

Halfback: Gabe Igaban, 11, Elko

Halfback: Adrian Murillo, 11, Elko

Fullback: Erik Vasquez, 9, Sparks

Fullback: Jose Carrel, 12, Elko

Fullback: Brian Shettler, 12, Lowry

Goalkeeper: Alex Mora, 12, Elko

Utility: Hunter Simpson, 12, Truckee

Second Team

Forward: Joel Garcia, 10, Truckee

Forward: Spencer Pemelton, 11, Spring Creek

Forward: Richard Adomako, 12, Elko

Halfback: Jose Gonzalez, 11, Truckee

Halfback: Jesus Escobado, 12, Lowry

Halfback: Zack Barta, 11, Truckee

Halfback: Renne Perez, 9, Sparks

Fullback: Zach Williams, 11, Truckee

Fullback: Frances Manuel, 11, Elko

Fullback: Toni Oregal, 10, Truckee

Goalkeeper: Gabriel Serna, 12, Truckee

Utility: Jordan Diaz, 12, Lowry

Honorable Mention (Truckee only)

Forward: Oscar Ingnez, 11, Truckee

Halfback: Hugo Gutierrez, 11, Truckee

Halfback: Max Krengal, 11, Truckee

Fullback: Randy Ruiz, 11, Truckee


MVP: Angelica Hurtado, 10, Sparks

Coach of the Year: Kyle Kelly, Truckee

First Team

Forward: Kenya Brazzell, 12, South Tahoe

Forward: Ava Seelenfreund, 9, Truckee

Forward: Zareli Villa, 11, Truckee

Midfield: Olivia Vigano, 10, Truckee

Midfield: Annie Brejc, 10, South Tahoe

Midfield: Sophie Warren, 12, Truckee

Midfield: Jennifer Valdivia, 11, South Tahoe

Defense: Natalie Reber, 11, South Tahoe

Defense: Hannah Seppi, 12, Truckee

Defense: Zoe D’Angelo, 12, South Tahoe

Goalkeeper: Kristina Mason, 11, Dayton

Utility: Chloe Murphy, 11, Truckee

Second Team

Forward: Linsey Bessert, 12, Spring Creek

Forward: Desi Benavidez, 12, Fallon

Forward: Rebecca Mills, 12, Fallon

Midfield: Zahori Toledo, 10, Sparks

Midfield: Caitlynn Cooper, 12, Lowry

Midfield: Bailee Salmon, 11, South Tahoe

Midfield: Kaitlyn McLeod, 10, Spring Creek

Defense: Molly Jaggard, 12, South Tahoe

Defense: Corinne Doerner, 11, Truckee

Defense: Alyssa Campbell, 11, Lowry

Goalkeeper: Lauryn Drake, 10, Elko

Utility: Emma Dayberry, 11, South Tahoe

Honorable Mention (Truckee only)

Izzy Abarno, 10, Truckee

Amber Simonpietri, 9, Truckee

Truckee soccer received 22 selections to the Northern Division I-A All-League teams, led by junior Manuel Sarabia’s Most Valuable Player award for the boys and Kyle Kelly’s Coach of the Year for the girls.

The awards were determined by the league’s coaches.

In girls voting, the league’s top two teams, Truckee and South Tahoe, cleaned up on first team selections with 11 of the 12 players total. Truckee had six of those players — junior Zareli Villa and freshman Ava Seelenfreund at forward, senior Sophie Warren and sophomore Olivia Vigano at midfield, senior Hannah Seppi on defense, and junior Chloe Murphy as a utility player.

Junior defender Corinne Doerner was voted to the All-League second team, and sophomore Izzy Abarno and freshman Amber Simonpietri received honorable mention recognition.

Seppi and Warren also made the All-State first team, and Villa, Murphy, Vigano and Seelenfreund made the All-State second team.

Angelica Hurtado, a sophomore for Sparks, was the league MVP.

Truckee’s boys had 12 players selected to All-League, with Sarabia, a three-year varsity standout, receiving the highest honor.

Senior Hunter Simpson was voted to the first team as a utility player, while second-team selections went to sophomore forward Joel Garcia, junior midfielders Jose Gonzalez and Zack Barta, junior defender Zach Williams, sophomore defender Toni Oregal, and senior goalkeeper Gabriel Serna.

Four Wolverines received honorable mention — juniors Oscar Ingnez, Hugo Gutierrez, Max Krengal and Randy Ruiz.

For All-State, Sarabia made the first team and Simpson made the second team.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.