Truckee volleyball: Kaylee Waters voted Most Valuable in state |

Truckee volleyball: Kaylee Waters voted Most Valuable in state

Sun Staff report
Truckee senior libero Kaylee Waters, shown during the regular season along with teammates Laura Tirman (3) and Annie Reiswig (12), was voted Northern 3A All-League and 3A All-State MVP.

Truckeeand#8217;s defensive sparkplug and vocal leader on the court received her due recognition for her key role in the Wolverinesand#8217; state championship run. So did her coach.

Senior libero Kaylee Waters was voted 3A All-State and Northern 3A All-League MVP, while Truckee head coach Nicole Annaloro was voted All-State Coach of the Year.

In addition to Annaloro and Waters and#8212; an impact player the past three seasons for the Wolverines and#8212; senior middle blocker Merry Brown, junior setter Jillian Akers and sophomore outside hitter Annie Reiswig were voted to the All-State and All-League first teams.

Truckee senior Laura Tirman was voted to the All-State and All-League second team at Opposite, while Lindsay Nason earned All-State and All-League honorable mention, and senior Alana Avalos All-League honorable mention.

All-League is voted on by all the Northern 3A coaches; Coaches in the 3A State Championship tournament decide the All-State selections.

MVP: Kaylee Waters, Truckee

Coach of the Year: Tarna Elliott, Sparks

First Team

Outside hitter: Alissa Vickers, Dayton

Outside hitter: Annie Reiswig, Truckee

Middle blocker: Merry Brown, Truckee

Middle blocker: Alex Roberts, Yerington

Setter: Jillian Akers, Truckee

Libero: Courtney Cliften, Yerington

Opposite: Makenna Lommori, Yerington

Utility: Brooke Aiazzi, Yerington

Second Team

Outside hitter: Matia Spencer, Dayton

Outside hitter: Trinity Thom, Yerington

Middle blocker: Skylar Estes, Lowry

Middle blocker: Shannon Ward, Fernley

Setter: McKenzie Kielty, Dayton

Libero: Krysti Collier, Sparks

Opposite: Laura Tirman, Truckee

Utility: Julia Lynch, Spring Creek

Honorable Mention

Lindsay Nason, Truckee

Alana Avalos, Truckee

Taylor Thomas, Yerington

Lyzette Aguilar, Yerington

Hayley Ignatich, Dayton

Aundria Pluck, Dayton

Megan Smart, Sparks

Gaby Diaz, Sparks

Daisy Marquez, Sparks

Angie Herrera, Lowry

Savanah Winans, Spring Creek

Alex Gowan, Spring Creek

Casey Scheller, Fernley

Amy Wagner, Fernley

Betsy Guerrero, Lowry

MVP: Kaylee Waters

Coach of the Year: Nicole Annaloro

First team

Annie Rieswig, Merry Brown, Jillian Akers

Second team

Laura Tirman

Honorable mention

Lindsay Nason

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User