Wolverines dominate 3A All-State list; Shaffer named top coach | SierraSun.com

Wolverines dominate 3A All-State list; Shaffer named top coach

The Reno Gazette-Journal announced its Nevada 3A All-state football selections Monday and Truckee players topped the list with 10 first-team picks.

Wolverine football coach Bob Shaffer was named state 3A coach of the year.

Jeff Andrs was named state 3A MVP, while quarterback Chris Gerdin was named state offensive player of the year in a tie with Manogue’s Todd O’Gara.

Josh Hunt was picked as the top lineman of the year in the state.

He shared the title with Manogue lineman Michael Yennick.

The first-team offense follows:

Gerdin, quarterback; Josh Wilson, running back; David DeCoite, wide receiver; Ty Lewis, offensive lineman; David Wells, offensive lineman.

The first-team defense: Brandon Anderson, defensive lineman; Josh Hunt, defensive lineman; Seth Scribner, linebacker; Andrs, linebacker; Robbie McClendon, defensive back.

The second-team offense: Danny Curtis, offensive lineman.

The third-team defense: Brad Noel, defensive lineman; Josh Anagnos, linebacker; Mark Thiel, punter.

Honorable mention follow: James Schaff, offensive lineman; Robert Acevedo, offensive lineman.

In a prior award, USA Today named Josh Wilson to the All USA Honorable Mention list in late December.

The list comes after a perfect 12-0 Wolverine season which gave the Truckee squad the Nevada state championship in 1998.

Second to Truckee in first-team nominees was Reno’s Bishop-Manogue, a team which Truckee beat in the state championship game, with five players.

Manogue’s Sean Settewongse, O’Gara, Yenick, Brett Martinez and Dustin Garcia were each picked for the first team.

Settewongse rushed for more than 1,400 yard in 1998, but was effectively shut down by the Truckee defense in the state championship.

The only other Tahoe area players named to the first team were Incline’s linebacker Gherardo Fedrigo and defensive back Kyle Knepsler.

Fedrigo was also picked as the defensive player of the year.

North Tahoe running back Tyler O’Neil was named to the second team, as were Lakers Joey Lockridge and Brett Brolliar on defense.

In the honorable mention category, Manogue’s Tony Amanita, Lovelock’s Joe Yanni and Virgin Valley’s Kirk Hafen were named in the coach’s division.

Players from Lovelock, Virgin Valley, Spring Creek, Battle Mountain, White Pine, Rite of Passage, Moapa Valley, Yerington and Dayton were also included on the annual list.

Back to Front Page

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User